Zend framework

April 18, 2008

After my favourable impression of Project Pier, which uses a cake php style MVC architecture, I thought I’d give the Zend Framework a whirl, and after struggling a bit at first I’m slowly being convinced that I’ve made a good decision – it’s certainly helping standardise development (and encourage code re-use!) here where I work at the minute, which is very positive. We’ll stick with it for a while now and see how it goes.

I suppose it’s funny I’m only trying this stuff out now, but I was a late adopter of php5, so I was using mostly procedural code an account of the poor performance of OO stuff in php4 (see http://phplens.com/lens/php-book/optimizing-debugging-php.php). When the announcement that development work was being discontinued php4 I had to switch over, so I did some benchmarking and discovered objects are now fast. It’s nice, there’s something pleasing about optimising for code elegance rather than fretting about performance the whole time 🙂

One Response to “Zend framework”

  1. Wil Sinclair Says:

    I hope you like ZF even more as you get to know it better. We try to keep in mind that flexibility is often a prerequisite to usefulness of frameworks in any setting. With that in mind, you can expect more features that combine power, flexibility, and simplicity.

    Happy ZF’in!

    ,Wil


Leave a Reply

